top of page

June Devotion

June Devotion = Sacred Heart of Jesus

O most holy Heart of Jesus, fountain of every blessing, I adore You, I love You, and with a lively sorrow for my sins, I offer You this poor heart of mine. Make me humble, patient, pure, and wholly obedient to Your will. Grant, good Jesus, that I may live in You and for You.

The devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus is celebrated on the third Friday after Pentecost, and recognizes Jesus’ great love for us as symbolized by His heart.

Catholicism has some of the most stunning, awe-inspiring, and colorful iconography as reminders of the Truths of our Faith. Holy Scripture inspired many of the world's most recognizable and beloved artistic masterpieces.

Some of the most striking images are not man-made but inspired by the Lord Himself: the Shroud of Turin, Our Lady of Guadalupe's miraculous image on Juan Diego's tilma, and the Sacred Heart of Jesus.

The image of the Sacred Heart consists of His Heart, wounded by the spear in pressed into his side, and drops of his precious blood; it is surrounded by a crown of thorns, a cross, and is on fire. Honored alongside the Sacred Heart is Mary's Immaculate Heart, consisting of her contemplative, maternal heart, encircled by a crown of roses, pierced with a sword, and aflame.

The Sacred Heart's burning love is directed toward humanity, and the physical suffering portrayed in His image is for the sake of mankind: the lance wound in the heart, the crown of thorns, the drops of blood. Though He endured great physical suffering, Christ remained committed to the Father's mission for Him. This image draws our attention to the intense human suffering endured by our Lord on our behalf.

The Devotion to the Sacred Heart began in the 1670s, when Jesus appeared multiple times to St. Margaret Mary Alacoque, a Visitation nun in France. Through these visions, He told her how He wished to be honored with the symbol of His heart, asking for the faithful to make amends for any wrongdoing they had done, frequently take Communion, and observe the Holy Hour. In 1856, the devotion was added to the church calendar by Pope Pius IX.

During apparitions to St. Margaret Mary in 1674, Jesus made Twelve Promises to those who honor and spread devotion to his Sacred Heart, one of which was, “I will bless every house in which an image of my heart shall be exposed and honored.”

The entire month of June is devoted to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. The third Friday after Pentecost is the Solemnity of the Sacred Heart of Jesus (May and June are rich with Solemnities!). Year-round, we can follow our Lord's own instructions to St. Margaret Mary Alacoque: go to confession and receive the Eucharist at Mass on nine consecutive First Fridays. Christ also promised abundant blessings to families who consecrate their homes to His Sacred Heart through an enthronement ceremony.

72 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All


bottom of page